All motor vehicles are expensive and dangerous commodities. That's why every state regulates the use of vehicles within their borders. Besides getting a driver's license, owners must register the vehicle and buy car insurance. To simplify the process, many Florida car insurance agencies offer tag & title services. This allows you to register and title your vehicle at the same time you get car insurance.
Why States Require Vehicle Registration
Most states, Florida included, require vehicle registrations for a variety of reasons.
- Registration certifies that you are a resident of the state, own your car and qualify to drive.
- By registering your vehicle, you receive a license plate and registration tag. These unique identifiers create an easy way to recognize your car. After all, countless other drivers might have the same vehicle make and model as you.
- Registration helps protect public safety. If your vehicle gets stolen, for example, then you can give your registration to the police.
- If a driver commits a crime, including certain traffic violations, then the state can suspend their registration and license. The offender then won't be able to drive until they pay their penalty.
Registration and auto insurance usually go hand in hand, and Florida requires both. If you don't have insurance, then the state might suspend your registration. Through the tag & title system, you can manage both coverage and registration through your Automatic Insurance agent. This will help you keep both in good standing.
When To Register Your Vehicle In Florida
You usually must register a vehicle you own in the state where you are a permanent resident. Usually, you must transfer your registration to Florida if:
- You move from out of state.
- You accept full-time, in-person employment in Florida.
- You enroll your children in a Florida public school.
Upon moving to Florida, you have 30 days to transfer the registration. To do so, you must:
- Get a valid Florida driver's license.
- Transfer your vehicle's title or proof of a lien to Florida.
- Have a vehicle inspection.
- Buy car insurance that meets Florida's minimum insurance requirements.
- Pay the $225 registration fee required by the state.
To keep your registration active, you will have to renew it annually. An annual registration fee will apply. All vehicles must receive new tags every 10 years.
Some exceptions to Florida's registration rules exist, but you should assume that they apply to you until you find out otherwise. Your agent at Automatic Insurance is happy to help you understand the requirements to register your vehicle and complete the process.