If you are moving to Florida, you are expected to establish residency. This includes paying your taxes, setting up a domicile and—eventually—registering your vehicle.
By law, all new Florida residents are required to register, obtain titles and receive tags for their motor vehicles. If you are relocating to Florida from another state, this process is a bit different than the process of buying a new car when you are already a resident. Let’s take a closer look at this process.
Registering Your Vehicle in Florida
To properly register your vehicle in Florida, you must acquire both a Florida license plate and a title issued by the state (regardless of the state in which you purchased your vehicle).
There are several regulations that govern when you must obtain Florida registration for your vehicle:
In general, you must complete the application process for a Florida tag within 30 days of establishing residency in the state.
You will also have to file for Florida registration if you become permanently employed in the state or enroll your child in a Florida public school.
Which Documents Do I Need in Order to Register My Vehicle?
Once you start the process of registering your vehicle, you must have appropriate documentation. In particular, you must:
Transfer the title to Florida. To do so, complete Form HSMV 82040—Application for Certificate of Title With/Without Registration.
Have an inspection and verification of the car's vehicle identification number (VIN). This process is included on Form HSMV 82040. All vehicle owners must sign Form HSMV 82040.
Pay applicable taxes and fees on the vehicle.
After registering your vehicle, you will receive a Florida license plate and registration sticker, along with registration documents that you should carry in your car at all times.
Your vehicle’s registration will periodically expire. Most registrations expire annually on the birthdate of the vehicle’s owner. If there are multiple owners listed on the vehicle’s title, the registration will typically expire on the birthdate of the first owner listed. Additionally, you will be required to retag the vehicle entirely every 10 years.
If you need help with your Florida tag and title services, Automatic Insurance is here to help you through each phase of the process. We make it easy for every client to get both their registration requirements handled and their insurance needs met.